Pre-defined roles

Snyk provides a set of standard user roles that can be assigned and managed using the Snyk Web UI or the Snyk REST API and API v1. The permission sets for pre-defined roles cannot be customized. Instead, Snyk recommends creating a custom role under Manage role in the Snyk Web UI.

The pre-defined roles Snyk provides are as follows:

  • Organization Admin: the standard role equivalent for Team Leads. Users with this role can add and delete Projects, override Snyk checks, and provision Group members with an Organization-level role.

  • Organization Collaborator: the standard role equivalent for Developers. This role is ideal for small teams or a developer-first organizational approach.

  • Group Admin: the standard role equivalent for the person in your company who oversees Snyk use at a high level, providing a full set of permissions at the Group and Organization level. This also means that a Group Admin is automatically an Organization Admin to all Organizations that sit under the Group, although they will not be visible in an Organization level list.

  • Group Viewer: a user who can access the Group level but requires Organization-level permissions to take actions in Snyk. This is normally used as a starting point during onboarding with Snyk to understand functions tied to Group permissions and design a custom Group role for post-deployment use.

  • Group Member: a non-functional user role added to your environment as a transition from Group Viewer if you do not yet wish to create a custom role after onboarding with Snyk. This means the permissions granted can vary depending on your requirements, as discussed with your Snyk contacts. Select the named role from the list under Manage Members in the Snyk Web UI to check the permissions assigned to your Group Member role.

Feature availability

Group-level roles are available only to Enterprise customers. See the Plans and pricing page for details.

Role types

Roles can be managed at both the Organization level and the Group level.

Group-level roles contain permissions at both the Organization and the Group levels. Any Organization permissions added to a Group role will be granted to all Organizations in the Group. For example, the pre-defined Group role Group Viewer grants users a selection of view permissions on the Group, and also a selection of Organization-level viewer permissions to grant users who have that role read-only access to all Organizations in the Group.

Organization roles contain only permissions at the Organization level. Organization roles are useful for granting specific permissions for a selection of organizations.

You can use a combination of Organization and Group-level roles to grant specific access across your all roles. For example, if you want a user to have Organization Admin access to a particular Organization, but have read-only access to the rest of the Organizations in the Group, you can grant that user the Group Viewer role at the Group level and the Organization Admin role for the Organization you choose.

Organization-level permissions

This table details the Organization-level permissions that apply to each pre-defined role.

Org Admin

Org Collaborator

Group Admin

Group Viewer

View Organization

x

x

x

x

Edit Organization

x

x

Remove Organization

x

x

View Organization Reports

x

x

x

x

View Project

x

x

x

x

Add Project

x

x

x

Edit Project

x

x

x

Project Status

x

x

x

Test Project

x

x

x

Move Project

x

x

Remove Project

x

x

x

View Project History

x

x

x

x

Edit Project Integrations

x

x

Edit Project Attributes

x

x

View Jira Issues

x

x

x

x

Create Jira Issues

x

x

x

Edit Project Tags

x

x

x

View Project Ignores

x

x

x

x

Create Project Ignores

x

x

x

Edit Project Ignores

x

x

x

Remove Project Ignores

x

x

x

Create Pull Requests

x

x

x

Mark Pull Request checks as successful

x

x

View Collections

x

x

x

x

Create Collections

x

x

Edit Collections

x

x

Delete Collections

x

x

View Service Accounts

x

x

x

Create Service Accounts

x

x

Edit Service Accounts

x

x

Remove Service Accounts

x

x

View Users

x

x

x

x

Invite Users

x

x

Manage Users

x

x

Add Users

x

x

Provision Users

x

x

User Leave

x

x

x

User Remove

x

x

View Integrations

x

x

x

x

Edit Integrations

x

x

Test Packages

x

x

x

View Billing

x

x

Edit Billing

x

x

View Entitlements

x

x

x

x

View Preview Features

x

x

x

Edit Preview Features

x

x

View Audit Logs

x

x

x

View Outbound Webhooks

x

x

Create Outbound Webhooks

x

x

Remove Outbound Webhooks

x

x

View Apps

x

x

Install Apps

x

x

Create Apps

x

x

Edit Apps

x

x

Delete Apps

x

x

View Environments

x

x

x

x

Create Environments

x

x

Delete Environments

x

x

Update Environments

x

x

View Scans

x

x

x

x

Create Scans

x

x

x

View Resources

x

x

x

x

View Artifacts

x

x

x

x

Create Artifacts

x

x

x

View Custom Rules

x

x

x

x

Create Custom Rules

x

x

x

Edit Custom Rules

x

x

x

Delete Custom Rules

x

x

x

View Container Image

x

x

Create Container Image

x

x

Edit Container Image

x

x

Publish Kubernetes Resources

x

x

Group-level permissions

This table details the Group-level permissions that apply to each pre-defined role.

Org Admin

Org Collaborator

Group Admin

Group Viewer

View groups

x

x

Edit group details

x

View group settings

x

Edit settings

x

View group notification settings

x

Edit group notification settings

x

View orgs

x

x

Add orgs

x

Remove orgs

x

Read roles

x

Create roles

x

Edit roles

x

Remove roles

x

View users

x

x

Add users to the group

x

Edit users in the group

x

Remove users