Configuring Broker Contexts
How to use a Broker Context to override the configuration of a Broker connection for an integration
Use a Broker Context to override the configuration of a Broker Connection. When you apply a Context to a Broker Integration, the Integration uses the override parameters instead of the default values.
Use case
Use a Context when multiple Organizations share a Connection but require different endpoints or credentials. Create a Context with the necessary parameter overrides and apply it to the relevant Integrations for each Organization.
Connection: Defines how the Broker connects to a platform, for example, GitHub or Jira. A Connection includes a type and fixed parameters, such as URLs and tokens.
Context: Associates with a single Connection and contains a subset of parameters. These parameters override the corresponding Connection parameters.
Integration: Represents the use of a Connection by an Organization. An Integration consists of one Organization and one Connection. You can apply only one Context per Integration.
Configuring Broker Contexts
Prerequisites
Install
snyk-broker-configand configure your local environment. For more details, see Prerequisites for Universal Broker.Configure and integrate at least one Broker Connection.
Create a Context
Create a new Broker Context. Select the Connection and parameters to override, enter the new values or credential references for sensitive fields.
snyk-broker-config workflows contexts createWhen prompted, follow these steps:
Select a connection.
Select the parameters to override. Available parameters depend on the connection type. For example, for Jira, you can override
jira_hostname,jira_username,jira_password, andjira_pat.Enter a value for each parameter. For sensitive parameters, the API requires a credential reference from the same deployment. Select or create a new credential reference.
Apply a Context to an integration
Apply context overrides to an integration. Select the context and the integration to override.
Snyk displays integrations only for the same Connection as the Context.
If you have only one Context, Snyk does not prompt you to select a Context.
Withdraw a Context from an integration
Stop an integration from using a context. The integration reverts to the default connection parameters. Select the context, then select one or more integrations to remove.
Delete a Context
Viewing context details
List all Contexts for a deployment
Get a single Context
See which integrations use a specific Context
Displays the integration and Organization IDs associated with this Context.
Last updated
Was this helpful?

